Technology

Health Insurance API v0.1


I started a new job about two months ago and I’ve been too
busy working like a beaver to write new posts. But enough
with the excuses.

The new job offers a HSA health insurance plan but my gut
feeling told me my wife and I would be better off with
another plan. Unfortunately, I was shocked to learn that
it’s so darn hard to compare health plans.

The two main problems are:

  1. Each plan is different enough so that direct comparison
    is tough.
  2. Even when plans are similar, it’s difficult to compare a
    list of rules and prices with another list of rules and
    prices.

Then I had the “Aha!” moment. What if I turned each health
plan into a single dollar amount?

Being a nerd, I whipped up some Java code that makes
comparison shopping easier. The main idea is that instead of
comparing premiums, deductibles, coinsurance, etc., you
compare a single dollar amount. You tell the library how
many times you expect to go the doctor, the ER, etc. and it
gives the estimated yearly cost (for a given premium,
deductible, coinsurance). Repeat this for different
scenarios, and voila, you know have a more concrete idea of
how much you can expect to pay.

The code is currently unusable unless you’re a programmer.
The next “Aha!” idea is to write a simple-to-use web
interface to use the health insurance library. I’ll my
progress on GitHub as soon as I get a chance.

The Results

After running the code on a few major health plans
(Blue-Cross, United, Humana), here’s what I found:

  • To compare health plans, think yearly, not
    monthly.
  • “Value” plans are poorly named. They’re for people who
    spend so much in doctors that they need a “value” plan,
    not for people who are broke.
  • Co-payment plans are good for people who are relatively
    healthy. (No major surgeries, no hospital stays, less
    than a dozen doctor visits.)
  • HSA plans are good for people with high health costs
    and/or families of three or more.
  • No matter how you slice it, health insurance is
    expensive. Be prepared to put at least $3K away each year
    plus your deductible.

So I ended up going with a co-payment plan. When my wife and
I decide to have kids, we’re switching to an HSA plan.

One thought on “Health Insurance API v0.1

  1. Thanks for another fantastic post. The place else may just anyone get that
    type of information in such an ideal way of writing?
    I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I am at the search for such information.

Leave a Reply

