Technology

Making a Living as an Android Developer


I recently installed Jesus Hates Zombies by Robot Comics on my android. With a title like that, how can you go wrong?

Is JESUS a zombie? Yes. Well, maybe. One thing is clear: he hates zombies, and he’s back from the dead to KILL THEM ALL. This time, Jesus won’t turn the other cheek! By STEPHEN LINDSAY, MICHAEL BRACCO, ARTHUR SUYDAM and many others. Published by ALTERNA COMICS. Mobile comic. 87 screens. Comedy, horror.

Apparently, it’s fairly easy to “go wrong.” The app has no zoom feature, so I struggled to read the print on my tiny screen. As for content, well the problem is that there isn’t that much of it. But enough of how much I think it sucks. Does this app make money?The table shows the download statistics for all five issues:

#1 100,000 – 500,000
#2 50,000 – 100,000
#3 1,000 – 5,000
#4 1,000 – 5,000
#5 500 – 1,000

Wow! In terms of downloads, it’s in the same league as comiXology’s Comics
viewer.

But how much money did Robot Comics make? The first two issues are free. The last three are $1 each. So a low estimate for income to date is $2,500, a high
estimate is $11,000. The truth is probably somewhere in the middle: $6,750. Not too shabby, assuming it took these guys a month to write each app, so it comes out to about $1,000 per month for five months. Not bad for a hobby.

Note: These guys are making a living targeting the long tail—“niche” products produced quickly and cheaply to make a profit. But the android market also has traditional success stories—killer apps making insane amounts of money.

3 thoughts on “Making a Living as an Android Developer

  1. Thanks for your fantastic blog.
    I really learned a lot from this. I am trying to run the project and getting some issues. The video in live wallpaper is loaded however it is not displayed immediately. Once I refresh the screen the video wallpaper appears. I am not sure where exactly I am going wrong.
    I think that once I load the wallpaper first time the pFrameConverted->data is not filled and hence draw frame could not display the same. Once the video loading is finished and then I refresh the screen video appears immediately.

    Can you please suggest where I am making mistake.

    Thanks a lot in advance!!

Leave a Reply

